BTHA take over toy shop awards

The BTHA is joining the TRA in organising the annual Toy of the Year Awards.
Publish date:
Social count:

The awards are presented annually at a dinner held to coincide with Toy Fair. Next year, the gala evening will take place on 29 January 2009, the second day of the show.

The BTHA will also be responsible for judging the Best Toy Shop awards and has refined the process for next year. Letters inviting nominations from BTHA members and agents were mailed out this week. The deadline for nominating is 31st October. Nominated shops will be then be asked to complete a detailed entry form and submit a series of images for their entry to be taken further.

The shortlist will be announced at the beginning of December, and the winners revealed on the night. Nine awards will be presented by the BTHA to the best independent and multiple in four separate regions (Scotland and the North; the Midlands, Wales and East Anglia; Ireland (North and South) and the South of England) as well as a special award to the overall Best Toy Shop. The judging will be led by the BTHA Council.

The supplier awards will continue to be judged by the Toy Retailers Association (TRA). Golden Teddy awards will also be presented on the night.

To purchase tickets for the Toy of the Year Awards dinner, please contact Matt Jones at BTHA – 020 7701 7127.


Featured Jobs

Vivid Job Logo 620 x 349

Digital Marketing Executive - Toys & Games

Vivid is Britain’s biggest toy company and the 20 largest in the world. With offices across the globe, they sell an amazing portfolio of toys and games to over 60 countries. Vivid is best known for its association with blockbuster brands and is very excited about future opportunities around the world.


UK Sales Agents

Liberty House Toys have been appointed as the exclusive UK distributor for the BiOBUDDi brand, and we are pleased to introduce this new unique, innovative and exciting range of 100% environmentally-friendly toy building blocks. We are seeking experienced sales agents with existing network in the toy retail market.

Gameplan Job Logo 620 x 349

Head of Product Development & Marketing

Our client is a privately owned French toy and games manufacturer which sells through distributors in forty countries. The company develops and sells innovative electronic interactive toys and games for the educational and gaming markets, and also takes suitable licenses. To progress its successful business development a Head of Product Development & Marketing is to to recruited.

HIT Entertainment Job Logo 620 x 349

Licensing Systems Administrator

The Contract System Coordinator is a newly created role to support the deal term entry process into Mattel’s new Contract Management System for its Licensing business. The role will support the Business Teams at the Deal & Amendment phase of the contracting process and act in conjunction with the System Administration team.