TIA reveals 2013 Toy of the Year nominees

LEGO, Hasbro, Mattel, LeapFrog and Spin Master all in the mix.
Publish date:
11_US Toy Fair logo.jpg

The Toy Industry Association has revealed the 84 finalists for the 2013 Toy of the Year Awards.

The voting process is open between now and January 13th, 2013, for visitors to www.toyawards.org to vote in 12 categories.

Companies shortlisted include Mattel, Hasbro, LEGO, Spin Master, Activision, LeapFrog, Thames & Kosmos, VTech, Jakks Pacific and Tomy among others.

"Each year, TOTY celebrates the creative spirit of the toy industry and honours the joy that toys and games bring to kids of all walks of life," explained Carter Keithley, TIA president. "We are proud to announce that the TOTY Awards will once again support the inspiring work of the Toy Industry Foundation, which annually delivers one million toys and games to deserving children around the world."

Stacy Leistner, TIA VP of strategic communications, added: "The toys in the 2013 TOTY line-up emphasise play value, originality and innovation across all market sectors."

In addition, the Digital Kids Conference will once again run alongside the New York show next February.

Toy Fair 2013 will be held from Sunday February 10th to Wednesday February 13th at the Jacob K Javits Convention Center. Simply click on this link for further details.

Want to receive up to the minute toy industry news straight to your inbox? Click here to sign up for the free ToyNews Daily Digest and Newsflash services. You can also follow ToyNews on Twitter and Facebook.


New York Toy Fair 2014.jpg


Last year's US Toy Fair saw an 11% surge in international buyers and an 8% increase in exhibitors. The TIA explains why you should be making the trip to the Big Apple next month.

Featured Jobs

Copyrights Group

Marketing Manager

The Copyrights Group is one of the licensing arms within The Vivendi Group. Acquired by Vivendi in 2016 Copyrights manages the licensing for a portfolio of properties to include Paddington Bear. Some of the other companies within the Vivendi Group include Universal Music Group, and their licensing arm Bravado, Gameloft and Studiocanal to name a few.