TAGIE nominees announced

Chicago Toy and Game Group announces category shortlists for the inaugural Toy and Game Inventors Event.
Publish date:

The categories include the Award for Excellence in Game Design, the Award for Excellence in Toy Design and the Award for Rising Star Inventors.

The TAGIE Awards Dinner is being held in conjunction with the Chicago Toy and Game Inventors Expo and was set up to recognise the creative inventors of toys and games. The lead sponsor for the event is Hasbro and Mattel is the supporting sponsor.

The nominees are:

Excellence in Game Design

  • Garry Donner and Michael Steer of Random Toys and Games
  • Matt Kirby, independent game inventor and filmmaker
  • Richard Borg of Action Designs

Excellence in Toy Design

  • Steve Rehkemper and Jeff Rehkemper of REHCO
  • Aldric Saucier – Independent toy and video game designer
  • Bruce Lund of Lund and Company Invention

Rising Star Inventor

  • Joyce Johnson and Colleen McCarthy-Evans of Toying with Games
  • Curt Covert and Justin Brunetto of Smirk and Dagger Games
  • Joe Haus – Independent game inventor

The awards will also include a Lifetime Achievement Award to Jeffrey Breslow of Big Monster Toys (BMT).

The event takes place on November 21st, at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago, IL. For more information on voting for these toy and game designers, or to attend the gala event, reservations can be made at www.toyandgameinventors.com


Featured Jobs


Marketing Director UK

Gameplan I Southeast of England I Salary: Competitive I Date Published Monday 7th January 2019

Rainbow logo landscape_home of classic Final

Product Manager

Rainbow Designs Ltd I Olympia, London I Salary: Competitive I Date Published Wednesday 16th January 2019