Stockton takes TIA reins

Eight new members were elected to the board at the Association?s Annual Business Meeting.
Publish date:

Bryan Stockton, president, international of Mattel (pictured), will take over from retiring board chairman Al Verrecchia, CEO of Hasbro for a one-year term. Stockton had previously served as vice chairman of the board.

Soren Torp Laursen, president of Lego, returns to the Board of Directors and assumes the role of vice chairman.

As immediate past chairman, Verrecchia becomes an advisor to the governance body. Current board member John Gessert, president and CEO of American Plastic Toys, joins the executive committee as secretary-treasurer.

David Hargreaves of Hasbro joins Jamie Gallagher of Faber-Castell/Creativity for Kids to round out the executive committee. Hargreaves replaces James Pressman of Pressman Toy Corporation while Gallagher continues his seat on the committee for an additional term.

In total, eight individuals were named as new members of the Board of Directors for a two-year term beginning this month:

Andrea Barthello, ThinkFun
William Beebe, Hoogaloo Toys
David Hargreaves, Hasbro
Sam Harwell, Big Time Toys
Shirley Price, Funrise Toy Corporation
Chuck Scothon, Mattel
Soren Torp Laursen, Lego Systems
Robert Wann, Patch Products.

Each new member was recommended by the TIA’s nominating committee for consideration and election by TIA members. In 2012, they will be eligible for consideration for a second two-year term.

Carter Keithley, TIA president said: “The Toy Industry Association is proud to welcome the newest members of its volunteer leadership team.

“The advice, counsel and perspectives offered by these industry executives – especially those who represent small and mid-sized companies – are essential as the association crafts its advocacy policies and implements its strategic objectives related to the economy, marketplace dynamics, legislation, regulation and standards, and technology and trade.”

Board members continuing their current terms include:

Joel Berger, Cardinal Industries
Leigh Anne Brodsky, Nickelodeon Consumer Products
Jay Foreman, The Bridge Direct/Acorn Management Group
Peter Henseler, Learning Curve Brands
George Irwin, Itoys,
Jeffrey Katz, LeapFrog Enterprises

Five people officially completed their terms of office:

Jim Engle, Little Kids
Brian Goldner, Hasbro
Robert Pasin, Radio Flyer
James Pressman, Pressman Toy Corporation
Anton Rabie, Spin Master

The 2010 TIA Annual Business Meeting was held in conjunction with the American International Toy Fair. For the first time, the business meeting was open to both members and non-members.


Featured Jobs


Marketing Director UK

Gameplan I Southeast of England I Salary: Competitive I Date Published Monday 7th January 2019

Rainbow logo landscape_home of classic Final

Product Manager

Rainbow Designs Ltd I Olympia, London I Salary: Competitive I Date Published Wednesday 16th January 2019