Home / Law & Politics / Debenhams confirms the 19 department stores to close by the end of the month

Debenhams confirms the 19 department stores to close by the end of the month

The department store chain Debenhams has entered the year with confirmation that 19 of its stores across the UK will close by the end of this month, after the company announced a CVA last year.

The struggling retailer has since announced the 19 stores that will shutter between January 11 and 25th this year, including stores in Manchester, Birmingham, and London.

The department store announced a Company Voluntary Arrangement in April last year, stating that it was to close 22 by 2020, affecting some 1,200 workers.

The full list of stores and the dates they are due to close reads as:

Altrincham, Greater Manchester – January 11
Birmingham, The Fort – January 11
Kirkcaldy, Fife – January 11
Walton-on-Thames, Surrey – January 11
Wandsworth, London – January 11
Chatham, Kent – January 15
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk – January 15
Slough, Berkshire – January 15
Stockton-on-Tees, Co, Durham – January 15
Welwyn, Hertfordshire – January 15
Witney, Oxfordshire – January 15
Ashford, Kent – January 19
Canterbury, Kent – January 19
Eastbourne, East Sussex – January 19
Folkestone, Kent – January 19
Southport, Merseyside – January 19
Southsea, Portsmouth – January 19
Wimbledon, London – January 19

The initial closures are part of a plan that will see around 50 shops shut in total during a three year strategy, leaving 110 shops trading under the Debenhams brand. 

Following this sweep of January closures, a further 28 stores are expected to shut next year.

Check Also

Trend Bible’s CEO signals strength of local shopping as the pandemic shifts consumer habits

Two decades on from the rise and dominance of the large-scale retail, supermarkets and the …