MGA, Spin Master and Toytown win big at 53rd Toy Industry Awards

The 53rd annual Toy Industry Awards closed out the first night of Toy Fair, honouring the top products, companies and retailers of the year.

The gala event, organised by the British Toy and Hobby Association with the Toy Retailers Association was held at the Olympia’s Apex Room and was a veritable who’s who of toy industry major players.

BTHA Chairman, Jon Diver, announced the winners of the Toy Retailer of the Year Awards, and TRA Chairman, Alan Simpson, unveiled the Toy and Supplier of the Year Awards. 

MGA enjoyed a slew of wins, taking home the grand Toy of the Year prize for their wildly popular L.O.L. Surprise collectables line as well as Craze of the Year and Creative Toy of the Year for L.O.L. Fizz Maker.

Spin Master also celebrated banner year, taking home Supplier of the Year, as well as Doll of the Year for Luvabella and Pre-School Toy of The Year for Paw Patrol Vehicles.

Elsewhere, the BTHA Golden Teddy Award was also presented to Colin Rossiter of Character Options for outstanding achievement and a career in the toy industry which has spanned 40 years.

“Congratulations on behalf of the BTHA to all the winners of this year’s Toy Retailer Awards – as always, it is a great pleasure to see such a high standard of entry and judges debated long and hard to determine this year’s winners," said John Diver. "Recognition must also go to our worthy runners-up and big thanks must go to everyone for taking part.”

Alan Simpson, chairman of the TRA, added: “On behalf of the TRA, our congratulations to all the Award winners, and those with shortlisted products too. It wasn’t an easy task selecting winners for categories which stood out in 2017. We can now all look forward to a successful 2018. I have no doubt it will be challenging, but together we can make it a success.”

A full list of winners follows below:

Toy Retailer of the Year

Small Independent Toy Retailer of the Year Just Williams Toys

Large Independent Toy Retailer of the Year Toymaster Cavan

Specialist Multiple Toy Retailer of the Year (up to 5 stores) Toy Galaxy

Specialist Multiple Toy Retailer of the Year (up to 25 stores) Kids Stuff Toys

Specialist Multiple Toy Retailer of the Year (over 25 stores) Toytown

General Multiple Toy Retailer of the Year Argos

Department Store Toy Retailer of the Year Jarrold

Online Toy Retailer of the Year Smyths

Overall Toy Retailer of the Year Toytown

Toy and Supplier of the Year

Action Toy of the Year Stretch Armstrong, Character Options

Pocket Money Toy of The Year Pokémon Cards, Esdevium

Interactive Toy of The Year Fingerlings, Jazwares

Craze of The Year L.O.L., MGA

Collectable Range of The Year Hatchimals Collegtables, Spinmaster

Retro Toy of the Year Rubik’s Cube, John Adams

Game of The Year Dobble Esdevium

Doll of The Year Luvabella Spinmaster

Creative Toy of The Year L.O.L. Fizz Maker, MGA

Pre-School Toy of The Year Paw Patrol Vehicles, Spinmaster

Electronic Toy of The Year Laser X, Character Options

Licensor of The Year Nickelodeon

Special Recognition Award Playmobil

Supplier of The Year Spinmaster

Toy of the Year L.O.L. Surprise, MGA

About Robert Hutchins

Robert Hutchins is the editor of and ToyNews. Hutchins has worked his way up from Staff Writer to the position of Editor across the two titles, having spent almost eight years with both ToyNews and, and what now seems like a lifetime surrounded by toys. You can contact him by emailing or calling him on 0203 143 8780 You can even follow him on Twitter @RobGHutchins if ranting is your thing...

Check Also

INTERVIEW: Richard Denning, Co-Director of UK Games Expo

This weekend, the UK Games Expo, the UK’s largest board game convention, returns to the …