TIA to induct a trio of industry icons to the Toy Industry Hall of Fame

The Toy Industry Association will induct a trio of toy industry veterans into its esteemed Hall of Fame.

Peter Eio, the former president of LEGO Systems, the late Ray Larsen, founder of RLA Marketing and the late Sydney Rosen, former owner of Rose-Art, Cra-Z-Art will each be welcomed to the gallery in the group’s 2017 induction ceremony.

These individuals have been selected for induction by members of TIA in recognition of their significant contributions to the industry and the impact they have had on the lives of children through a commitment to toys and play.

They will join a roster of 71 toy industry luminaries, including Jim Henson and George Lucas who have been inducted, into the Hall since it was established in 1984.

The induction ceremony will be held on February 17th next year in conjunction with the annual Toy of the Year Awards gala in New York City.

“We are honoured to welcome three true pioneers in the business of toys, Mr Eio, Mr Larsen and Mr Rosen, into the prestigious Hall of Fame,” said Steve Pasierb, TIA president and CEO.

“These extraordinary individuals led careers that continually demonstrated a deep, personal dedication to bringing joy, magic and learning to children around the world.

“Having their induction ceremony as part of the Toy of the Year Awards gala in February will be a highlight during the evening’s celebration of our great industry.”

The 2017 ceremony honouring the latest inductees will take place at the 17th Annual Toy of the Year Awards on Friday, February 17th at The Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum in New York City. 

The ceremony will kick off the 114th North American International Toy Fair.

About Robert Hutchins

Robert Hutchins is the editor of Licensing.biz and ToyNews. Hutchins has worked his way up from Staff Writer to the position of Editor across the two titles, having spent almost eight years with both ToyNews and Licensing.biz, and what now seems like a lifetime surrounded by toys. You can contact him by emailing robert.hutchins@biz-media.co.uk or calling him on 0203 143 8780 You can even follow him on Twitter @RobGHutchins if ranting is your thing...

Check Also

Hasbro named in 100 Best Corporate Citizens list for 11th consecutive year

Hasbro has been named in 3BL Media’s 100 Best Corporate Citizens 2022 ranking, marking the …